Create a free account to remove all ad content.

Author Topic:  Script menu customization (?)  (Read 963 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Craig

  • Developer
  • Extreme Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6655
  • Dig Deep
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
  • Steam: tota1miner
Re: Script menu customization (?)
« Reply #10 on: April 29, 2018, 05:52:46 AM »
No, keep the folder/script names long (fully descriptive). Use the alias name for menu commands etc, that's what it's for.

JAZZ 0R KILLER

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 117
  • YT - Solo Crew
    • View Profile
    • YouTube
  • Xbox: JAZZ 0R KILLER
Re: Script menu customization (?)
« Reply #11 on: April 29, 2018, 09:17:24 AM »
Okay, this may be a dumb question, but what is alias? As much scripting that I do, I probably know what it is, just overthinking it?
Look at you being all cool!

AlienizdPixel

  • Tester
  • Supreme Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2741
  • Hello
    • View Profile
  • Xbox: A1ienizdPixe1
Re: Script menu customization (?)
« Reply #12 on: April 29, 2018, 12:03:51 PM »
Okay, this may be a dumb question, but what is alias? As much scripting that I do, I probably know what it is, just overthinking it?
An alternative name for a script to reference in commands.
For example, instead of inputting "Shop\Community Shop\Page 1\Item One" you can give it an alias "ComShopP1I1", use it where parameter calls for a script, and it would work the same as if you had input "Shop\Community Shop\Page 1\Item One".
-Alionz

Rev Elevenclaw

  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 372
    • View Profile
  • Xbox: Rev Elevenclaw
Re: Script menu customization (?)
« Reply #13 on: April 29, 2018, 12:15:36 PM »
It's an option just below the script name in a given scripts UI. I always wondered about the alias option, but wasn't adventurous enough to experiment with it. When using an alias, does one just use that name to call a script in a script? For example, if ihave 2 scripts and 1 calls on the other,  would this work?

Script 1 is example script blah/1
Script 2 is blah/2 alias; 2

Script 1

If
Haspermission [admin] [true]
Then
Script [2]
Elseif
Text [local] [nope] [0,0,0]
Endif
Focus determines reality...

Fuertey

  • Elite Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Keyboard not found. Press F1 to continue.
    • View Profile
  • Xbox: Fuertey
  • Steam: Fuertey
Re: Script menu customization (?)
« Reply #14 on: April 29, 2018, 12:46:46 PM »
It's an option just below the script name in a given scripts UI. I always wondered about the alias option, but wasn't adventurous enough to experiment with it. When using an alias, does one just use that name to call a script in a script? For example, if ihave 2 scripts and 1 calls on the other,  would this work?

Script 1 is example script blah/1
Script 2 is blah/2 alias; 2

Script 1

If
Haspermission [admin] [true]
Then
Script [2]
Elseif
Text [local] [nope] [0,0,0]
Endif

Yup. That's exactly how it works. Very useful for people like me who could be accused of being too organised and having scripts 3-4 folders deep.

Rev Elevenclaw

  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 372
    • View Profile
  • Xbox: Rev Elevenclaw
Re: Script menu customization (?)
« Reply #15 on: April 29, 2018, 02:57:40 PM »
Yup. That's exactly how it works.

That's cool!  Wish I knew that way back...  This is how we learn.
Focus determines reality...