Author Topic:  Speed and gravity .  (Read 372 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Jeff

  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 865
  • pvp clans
  • Awards 3 years on site 2 years on site 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: Oshkosh
  • Steam: Green_Bay
Speed and gravity .
« on: August 11, 2016, 10:21:49 AM »
You can set speed and gravity to zones, but what if you could set it to player with a script, no zones.. Then you could make swiftness potions and stuff. Just an idea though. [player] [seed=2] [wait 30000] [speed=1] Something like that Player speed and player gravity ??

Jaz

  • Supreme Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2987
  • - Jaz
  • Awards 5 years on site Donated a giveaway prize. (Must be a prize of cash value.) Awarded to exemplary forum members Was in the top 10 of the forum stats page as of 4/12/15 Former MotM winners 4 years on site 3 years on site 2 years on site 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • The Useless Web
    • Awards
  • Xbox: Jaz the MAN 2
  • PSN: Jaz_the_MAN_2
  • Steam: Jaz the MAN 2
Re: Speed and gravity .
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2016, 11:04:00 AM »
Brilliant idea!

None more needed said.

Dryym

  • Supreme Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4334
  • What's yours is mine. ~TM's Resident Master Thief~
  • Awards Members who have unlocked the robotic avatar Awarded to exemplary forum members 2 years on site 3 years on site Site art contributions/TPs in-game/Contest winners 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: dryym
Re: Speed and gravity .
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2016, 12:16:47 PM »
I'd love this. Zones are so jittery.

Creator of the term "Deathmine "
Jared [19|Oct 07:12 PM]: "It changes everything" Dryym

Lunar

  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 954
  • The God of the Galaxy
  • Awards 3 years on site 2 years on site 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: Qvzw
  • PSN: Widumn_Boise
Re: Speed and gravity .
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2016, 12:29:12 PM »
I know a way to do this with zones, without the jitter, Make a 1x2x1 zone around the player with a speed set, then a 3x4x3 around them with the same speed, on the 1x2x1, make the exit script run the zone creation script again, or just have a 3x4x3 looping. But this would be definitely waaaay better, because this way causes lag, its annoying, other players can run through your area and get speed, and its not as easy as a simple script.

CriminalDuck007

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
  • This is Personal... and its text ^~^
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: CriminalDuck007
  • PSN: N/A
  • Steam: N/A
Re: Speed and gravity .
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2016, 02:46:26 PM »
yes, must have +1
There is a whole world out there do something with it...........or dont, but i think you should ^~^


Phearcia

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: Phearcia
Re: Speed and gravity .
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2016, 04:44:05 PM »
You can already do this though... Zones work perfectly if you code it. Run it in a continuous loop. I have a antigravity spell, a slow fall spell, and a haste spell.

Dryym

  • Supreme Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4334
  • What's yours is mine. ~TM's Resident Master Thief~
  • Awards Members who have unlocked the robotic avatar Awarded to exemplary forum members 2 years on site 3 years on site Site art contributions/TPs in-game/Contest winners 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: dryym
Re: Speed and gravity .
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2016, 04:47:22 PM »
You can already do this though... Zones work perfectly if you code it. Run it in a continuous loop. I have a antigravity spell, a slow fall spell, and a haste spell.

They do not work perfectly though. I've done the exact same thing, And to make it only affect the player is subpar at best.

Creator of the term "Deathmine "
Jared [19|Oct 07:12 PM]: "It changes everything" Dryym

Phearcia

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: Phearcia
Re: Speed and gravity .
« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2016, 04:55:13 PM »
Monk speed

If
 IsBlockSolid [prel:0,-1,0] [true]
Then
 Zone [monk] [temp] [vrel:0,-1,0] [vrel:0,0,0] [speed:2.25]
Loop [20]
Else if
 HasHistory [monk] [player] [true]
Then
Loop [20]

Dryym

  • Supreme Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4334
  • What's yours is mine. ~TM's Resident Master Thief~
  • Awards Members who have unlocked the robotic avatar Awarded to exemplary forum members 2 years on site 3 years on site Site art contributions/TPs in-game/Contest winners 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: dryym
Re: Speed and gravity .
« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2016, 04:57:57 PM »
Monk speed

If
 IsBlockSolid [prel:0,-1,0] [true]
Then
 Zone [monk] [temp] [vrel:0,-1,0] [vrel:0,0,0] [speed:2.25]
Loop [20]
Else if
 HasHistory [monk] [player] [true]
Then
Loop [20]

That will lag eventually if you have it on a world with multiple players.


I am all for this because it makes it simpler, And less laggy. It also means you can't get a speed bonus just by being near someone.

Creator of the term "Deathmine "
Jared [19|Oct 07:12 PM]: "It changes everything" Dryym

Phearcia

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: Phearcia
Re: Speed and gravity .
« Reply #9 on: August 12, 2016, 05:00:38 PM »
Hmm...did not know it would lag...I haven't put my maps online yet so I have no idea what's going to happen. Wouldn't it lag if it still use the same amount of ram to do the exact same thing though.

Dryym

  • Supreme Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4334
  • What's yours is mine. ~TM's Resident Master Thief~
  • Awards Members who have unlocked the robotic avatar Awarded to exemplary forum members 2 years on site 3 years on site Site art contributions/TPs in-game/Contest winners 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: dryym
Re: Speed and gravity .
« Reply #10 on: August 12, 2016, 05:03:29 PM »
Hmm...did not know it would lag...I haven't put my maps online yet so I have no idea what's going to happen. Wouldn't it lag if it still use the same amount of ram to do the exact same thing though.

It isn't the exact same thing though. The current workaround is creating and deleting a new zone every X milliseconds. All this would do is change a statistic.


The benefit is that it does not have to loop. Any latency in that zone loop will cause jitters.

Creator of the term "Deathmine "
Jared [19|Oct 07:12 PM]: "It changes everything" Dryym

Phearcia

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: Phearcia
Re: Speed and gravity .
« Reply #11 on: August 12, 2016, 05:23:41 PM »
Ah... I see now. This is a good idea.