Author Topic: [Help Needed] Scripting in dig deep  (Read 6256 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Rev Elevenclaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
  • Awards 2 years on site 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: Rev Elevenclaw
[Help Needed] Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #45 on: January 25, 2016, 08:44:51 AM »
I scrapped the 1 script method in trade for 4 independent scripts. They work awesomely! However, still no random. Maybe it is the way I have the chance activate a script. But I didn't see another way. IDK, but only the 'else' is working on IsRandom. Tested with all 4 scripts running for 30 mins. 'then' never happened.

Edit. Ran online and 1 of them worked, maybe a 2nd once. Seems circumstantial.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2016, 10:51:58 AM by Rev Elevenclaw »
Focus determines reality...

Rev Elevenclaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
  • Awards 2 years on site 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: Rev Elevenclaw
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #46 on: January 26, 2016, 09:30:20 AM »
I need more scriptable insanity effects. Any ideas?
Focus determines reality...

Rev Elevenclaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
  • Awards 2 years on site 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: Rev Elevenclaw
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #47 on: January 27, 2016, 08:10:23 AM »
And just like that, BAM! The idea hits you and you figure it out. IsRandom confirmed in DD. The scripting program didn't like my arrangement, so I rearranged. Now all is good:)
Focus determines reality...

SEARCH AND CRY

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: SEARCH AND CRY
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #48 on: January 27, 2016, 07:22:50 PM »
i can solve all your problems in a few minutes with you Rev

Rev Elevenclaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
  • Awards 2 years on site 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: Rev Elevenclaw
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #49 on: January 28, 2016, 02:52:21 AM »
i can solve all your problems in a few minutes with you Rev

Oh I got sorted. However, any advise or insight is always welcomed by this newbie scriptor. I do still need ideas for insanity effects...
Focus determines reality...

SEARCH AND CRY

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: SEARCH AND CRY
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #50 on: January 28, 2016, 07:00:22 PM »
Here is a idea do this one script
Tint Color [player] [250,0,0]
Wait [1000]
Repeat with different colors and you can add skycolor in also
it makes the player go on a psychedelic trip

Rev Elevenclaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
  • Awards 2 years on site 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: Rev Elevenclaw
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #51 on: January 29, 2016, 02:34:19 AM »
Here is a idea do this one script
Tint Color [player] [250,0,0]
Wait [1000]
Repeat with different colors and you can add skycolor in also
it makes the player go on a psychedelic trip

I have something similar to this in place. I like the idea of multi-phase coloring though:) I will think that over...
Focus determines reality...

Craig

  • Developer
  • Extreme Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6649
  • Dig Deep
  • Awards Developer 5 years on site 4 years on site 3 years on site 2 years on site Was in the top 10 of the forum stats page as of 4/12/15 Members who have unlocked the robotic avatar 1 year on site Day 1 w/25+ posts (4/12/13)
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
    • Awards
  • Steam: tota1miner
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #52 on: January 29, 2016, 03:40:40 AM »
Here is a idea do this one script
Tint Color [player] [250,0,0]
Wait [1000]
Repeat with different colors and you can add skycolor in also
it makes the player go on a psychedelic trip
Please be careful not to overdo it, some people can get seizures from rapidly changing color on screens. At the very least, for each color change, try to minimize the amount of hue change. i.e. make the color changes gradual rather than sudden.

Rev Elevenclaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
  • Awards 2 years on site 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: Rev Elevenclaw
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #53 on: January 29, 2016, 06:27:18 AM »
Please be careful not to overdo it, some people can get seizures from rapidly changing color on screens. At the very least, for each color change, try to minimize the amount of hue change. i.e. make the color changes gradual rather than sudden.

Noted. I have had experiences with that happening to an epileptic friend of mine. So I totally understand the concern, and that it is very real.
Focus determines reality...

Marked as best answer by Rev Elevenclaw on May 02, 2018, 03:48:55 PM

Rev Elevenclaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
  • Awards 2 years on site 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: Rev Elevenclaw
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #54 on: February 01, 2016, 01:27:08 AM »
Here is a list of verified scriptables for DD;
IsBlockLit
sky color
tint
cctv
- Health
-Mobhealth
teleport
move inventory
itemswing
History
HasHistory
IsPermission
IsAvatar
Script
Script [cancel]
OpenBlock
Loop
Wait
HasInventory
IsEquiped
All particles
Sound
Fog
Hail
Rain
MoveRegion
I hope to make a better and more complete list in the future. But hopefully this will save some people some time. I will also be listing what cannot be scripted in DD.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2016, 05:38:22 AM by Rev Elevenclaw »
Focus determines reality...

Rev Elevenclaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
  • Awards 2 years on site 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: Rev Elevenclaw
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #55 on: February 01, 2016, 03:26:05 AM »
Is there a way to isolate specfic players for scripts? As in, my ranking system would work smoother for returning players if there was an IsGamertag script option, but there isn't. Any ideas how to do this?
Focus determines reality...

Craig

  • Developer
  • Extreme Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6649
  • Dig Deep
  • Awards Developer 5 years on site 4 years on site 3 years on site 2 years on site Was in the top 10 of the forum stats page as of 4/12/15 Members who have unlocked the robotic avatar 1 year on site Day 1 w/25+ posts (4/12/13)
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
    • Awards
  • Steam: tota1miner
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #56 on: February 01, 2016, 04:04:22 AM »
Is there a way to isolate specfic players for scripts? As in, my ranking system would work smoother for returning players if there was an IsGamertag script option, but there isn't. Any ideas how to do this?
I don't know if this is the best way, but one way is to give the player some history in their PlayerLeave script, like 'History [ReturningPlayer] [player]', then when they are playing again you can check for that history with if HasHistory [ReturningPlayer] [player]'

Stoneart

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
  • "There's always time to get your block's off"
  • Awards Members who have unlocked the robotic avatar 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Discord link to my game (Coven)
    • Awards
  • Xbox: stoneart
  • PSN: Xx_Phoenix_Down_xX
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #57 on: February 01, 2016, 02:53:39 PM »
Craig is right. You need player specific history markers throughout your game to tell the game upon player start where the person is. Also I think you can run clan specific functions as well. So you can say everyone who spawns in gets the starting clan. If you have questions you cam pm me or find me online.

Rev Elevenclaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
  • Awards 2 years on site 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: Rev Elevenclaw
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #58 on: February 03, 2016, 01:43:56 AM »
Hmm... I think I get it. I will work on it.
Focus determines reality...

Rev Elevenclaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
  • Awards 2 years on site 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: Rev Elevenclaw
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #59 on: February 03, 2016, 01:51:39 AM »
Here's 1... Is it possible to move an entire building thru scripting in DD. I built a couple of things too close together. I was thinking about maybe a one move idea. I haven't even tried a MoveBlock script at all yet in DD. Let alone entire buildings. And any one that knows DD at all knows that moving block by block or completely rebuilding, is costly in both time and (in game) money.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2018, 12:51:10 PM by Rev Elevenclaw »
Focus determines reality...