Create a free account to remove all ad content.

Author Topic: [Help Needed] Scripting in dig deep  (Read 9677 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Spark

  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 412
  • I'm Italian and I love scripting
    • View Profile
  • Xbox: ShoppingSpark3
  • Steam: Bananatelli
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #20 on: January 07, 2016, 09:57:19 AM »
Ok. So itemswing works on DD, sorta. I have to manually run the script once from my list, then it works for the item.  I have tested it a few times by reloading my map, and always have to "run script", to make it work. I doubt this is normal. Bugs?
Yes, it is normal.
Just put this script on the event driven script menu, when "player join" ^-^
Amazing Scripter!

Rev Elevenclaw

  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 372
    • View Profile
  • Xbox: Rev Elevenclaw
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #21 on: January 07, 2016, 08:14:50 PM »
Yes, it is normal.
Just put this script on the event driven script menu, when "player join" ^-^
It's a strange thing to be normal. But whatever. As far as event player join, that spot is already used. Could I use an entering zone script? So it auto runs once upon my entering the map? I have 2 large zones that, between them both, cover the entire world. 1 for upper down to 130, and 131 down for lower.
Focus determines reality...

Craig

  • Developer
  • Extreme Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6655
  • Dig Deep
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
  • Steam: tota1miner
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #22 on: January 07, 2016, 08:21:12 PM »
As far as event player join, that spot is already used. Could I..
No, either just add all the SetEventScript commands to the end of your current PlayerJoins script, or put them all into their own script and call that script from your current PlayerJoins script.

I personally prefer the 2nd option because if you change a script once it's already been set to an event, you need to reset it to the event. Which is a nuisance while developing/testing the scripts. So if they're all in say a script called 'SetItemSwingEvents', then I can just manually run that script immediately after changing one of the item swing scripts to reset, without having to worry about anything else that the PlayerJoins script might be doing.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2016, 08:32:03 PM by Craig »

Rev Elevenclaw

  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 372
    • View Profile
  • Xbox: Rev Elevenclaw
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #23 on: January 08, 2016, 02:54:00 AM »
TY for the insight. It didn't occur to me to combine scripts into a 'packet'. A lot of scripting is still a mystery to me. But I am learning...
Focus determines reality...

Lord Leo

  • Legendary Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1187
  • Aka Cat
    • View Profile
  • Xbox: Circle cat113
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #24 on: January 08, 2016, 07:38:51 AM »
I wish you could put more when player joins scripts in '-'

Craig

  • Developer
  • Extreme Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6655
  • Dig Deep
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
  • Steam: tota1miner
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #25 on: January 08, 2016, 08:25:54 AM »
I wish you could put more when player joins scripts in '-'
Use the script command to call other scripts from your main PlayerJoin script.

Rev Elevenclaw

  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 372
    • View Profile
  • Xbox: Rev Elevenclaw
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #26 on: January 08, 2016, 09:09:06 AM »
I use a script block to autorun on admins only when they enter the map. I used it for my new script, and it has 3 others on it aswell. It works perfectly. But it isn't very organized. Craig's way seems better for sure, and I plan to change mine up.
Focus determines reality...

Rev Elevenclaw

  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 372
    • View Profile
  • Xbox: Rev Elevenclaw
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #27 on: January 13, 2016, 03:53:28 AM »
I'm figuring out a lot of DD scripts. So if anyone needs help, just ask here.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2016, 04:07:35 AM by Rev Elevenclaw »
Focus determines reality...

Zoidberg

  • Legendary Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1445
    • View Profile
  • Xbox: v Zoidberg v
  • Steam: v_Zoidberg_v
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #28 on: January 13, 2016, 04:01:29 AM »

Script grinder;

   Health -1
   Loop [1000]

Script grinderend;

   Script [grinder] [cancel]

This is set to active when my hunger script hits 0. Then deactivate upon using the edible item. What am I doing wrong...

The example you posted works for me in Dig Deep. Perhaps the problem lies in the script you mentioned that is supposed to deactivate it upon using the edible item. I'd try testing the script syntax in the related scripts to see if there was just a simple mistake.


Rev Elevenclaw

  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 372
    • View Profile
  • Xbox: Rev Elevenclaw
Re: Scripting in dig deep
« Reply #29 on: January 13, 2016, 04:18:53 AM »
Yeah it somehow started working... Right after that post.
Focus determines reality...