Author Topic:  resize components  (Read 530 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Magik chicken

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
  • Awards Day 1 w/25+ posts (4/12/13) 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
resize components
« on: May 03, 2013, 04:08:27 PM »
I was hoping that we could resize components.  I have lots of ideas involving this.

Will this be in a future update?

Silver

  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 845
  • I write stories. What else do you need to know?!
  • Awards 2 years on site 1 year on site Former MotM winners Day 1 w/25+ posts (4/12/13)
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: resize components
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2013, 05:25:41 PM »
It would be kinda hard, thinking about deleting and making blocks, so it might mess up some builds... like if you have a building and you wanna make it smaller, it's harder than you think. Blocks would have to be deleted to make it smaller.

DiamondBack662

  • Guest
Re: resize components
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2013, 05:37:19 PM »
Frankly the coding involved with resizing would be beyond what is feasible... A nice idea.. just not possible.

Magik chicken

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
  • Awards Day 1 w/25+ posts (4/12/13) 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: resize components
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2013, 05:49:37 PM »
Why isn't it possible? All the avatars you see in came came from in game models resized down.

Resizing would be in block intervals if you know what I mean. I appreciate that objects cause issues so all objects ie doors windows etc will no longer act as such. They will become textured blocks, or they become removed when resize occurs

DiamondBack662

  • Guest
Re: resize components
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2013, 05:53:23 PM »
Why isn't it possible? All the avatars you see in came came from in game models resized down.

Resizing would be in block intervals if you know what I mean. I appreciate that objects cause issues so all objects ie doors windows etc will no longer act as such. They will become textured blocks, or they become removed when resize occurs

There's a huge difference between resizing something outside the game and then adding it to the game as an item and resizing something that can be up to 64x64x64 blocks "on the fly" in the game itself.. It frankly isn't possible with the Xbox360.

Craig

  • Developer
  • Extreme Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6650
  • Dig Deep
  • Awards Developer 5 years on site 4 years on site 3 years on site 2 years on site Was in the top 10 of the forum stats page as of 4/12/15 Members who have unlocked the robotic avatar 1 year on site Day 1 w/25+ posts (4/12/13)
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
    • Awards
  • Steam: tota1miner
Re: resize components
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2013, 06:16:42 PM »
I'm guessing you mean rescale, similar to FC custom blocks?

Magik chicken

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
  • Awards Day 1 w/25+ posts (4/12/13) 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: resize components
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2013, 06:35:52 PM »
Rescale, not played FC in a while to compare

Magik chicken

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
  • Awards Day 1 w/25+ posts (4/12/13) 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: resize components
« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2013, 05:58:57 AM »
I'm hoping that I could use the avatars.change their material to granite ir gold.  Shrink them to make them into statues

muD

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1177
  • Awards Members who have unlocked the robotic avatar Awarded to exemplary forum members Day 1 w/25+ posts (4/12/13) 2 years on site Former MotM winners 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: resize components
« Reply #8 on: May 04, 2013, 03:48:30 PM »
this'd be great. i'd imagine rescaling by factors of 4 would be the way to go.
hope it's considered.