Total Miner Forums

Total Miner => Bug Reports [PC Beta] => Topic started by: JAZZ 0R KILLER on April 08, 2018, 03:48:17 PM

Title: Re-textured blocks
Post by: JAZZ 0R KILLER on April 08, 2018, 03:48:17 PM
I'm not sure how to create an actual texture pack, but I went through and created some textures, then used them to re-texture some blocks the same way I did in my Dark Items mod. I noticed that with the modded textures, if you stand back a few blocks, the texture glitches out. I'll post pics sometime soon, but is this a bug? Could it be the texture itself?

- Wow, the word texture was used a lot in this subject
Title: Re: Re-textured blocks
Post by: Craig on April 08, 2018, 06:39:45 PM
If you replace a 64x64 block texture, you also need to supply a 16x16 LOD texture, there is a post about it somewhere.
Title: Re: Re-textured blocks
Post by: JAZZ 0R KILLER on April 09, 2018, 08:01:57 PM
Okay, I found my problem. When making the textures, I left in some white, and forgot to make that part transparent.

*UPDATE* Now that that's all fixed, there is another problem. When you stand back a longer distance, the blocks completely disappear.

Also, can you add transparency to a "CustomBlock#"? I want to add a new glass block to the game.
Title: Re: Re-textured blocks
Post by: AlienizdPixel on April 10, 2018, 01:03:19 AM
Also, can you add transparency to a "CustomBlock#"? I want to add a new glass block to the game.
You should be capable of modifying the rendering of any block using the </Buffer> portion of BlockData.xml.
Title: Re: Re-textured blocks
Post by: JAZZ 0R KILLER on April 10, 2018, 04:24:30 PM
So for the buffer, would I use a high value? Or a small value? I want it to not glitch out at all, like any normal untouched block
Title: Re: Re-textured blocks
Post by: AlienizdPixel on April 10, 2018, 04:51:56 PM
Yes, however not extremely high; I believe the highest that should be necessary is 2-4, used when the block's texture is semi-transparent.
Title: Re: Re-textured blocks
Post by: JAZZ 0R KILLER on April 10, 2018, 06:34:51 PM
When I add a buffer, it doesn't load my game, and glitches out. For my solid blocks, I have a value of 8 set on the buffer, and for my transparent block, a value of 4.
Title: Re: Re-textured blocks
Post by: Craig on April 10, 2018, 07:16:12 PM
Omit the buffer parameter for solid blocks (or use a value of zero). Use a buffer value of 3 for transparent blocks.
Title: Re: Re-textured blocks
Post by: JAZZ 0R KILLER on April 10, 2018, 07:52:03 PM
The blocks still disappear when stepping a few blocks back
Title: Re: Re-textured blocks
Post by: JAZZ 0R KILLER on April 12, 2018, 08:13:11 PM
This is still not fixed
Title: Re: Re-textured blocks
Post by: AlienizdPixel on April 12, 2018, 09:57:49 PM
Change the BlockID to a standard block (e.g., Retro) and report if it still persists.
Title: Re: Re-textured blocks
Post by: Craig on April 13, 2018, 07:38:39 AM
There is no bug. I've tested it. Must be something on your side.
Title: Re: Re-textured blocks
Post by: JAZZ 0R KILLER on April 13, 2018, 03:38:11 PM
Im going to upload the mod that re-textures things. I'm sure it is me too, but someone can have a look
Title: Re: Re-textured blocks
Post by: Stoneart on April 13, 2018, 11:08:24 PM
I believe it's as Craig has said in his first post. However I can't tell without the file. Do you have both texture sizes included in the .png file? The game uses 16x16 for a long distance render. Normally if you don't have this it would just revert back to the original texture pack you are using when viewed from a distance.
Title: Re: Re-textured blocks
Post by: JAZZ 0R KILLER on April 14, 2018, 09:24:30 AM
Mod:
http://totalminerforums.net/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=78
Title: Re: Re-textured blocks
Post by: AlienizdPixel on April 14, 2018, 02:38:57 PM
Mod:
http://totalminerforums.net/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=78
Your LOD texture is set up incorrectly, there should not be additional space after the textures (may be bugged if there are multiple rows of textures), and there should not be any empty space between LOD textures.
Here is a fixed version of the textures:
(http://i65.tinypic.com/ws4lj5.png)
Title: Re: Re-textured blocks
Post by: JAZZ 0R KILLER on April 14, 2018, 03:32:43 PM
Really? Thanks! I didn't know that