Author Topic:  Chess in TM  (Read 2522 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

#

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
  • I don't do much here.
  • Awards Month 1 members w/25+posts (4/21/13-5/12/13) 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: HellomeZodoz
Chess in TM
« on: August 14, 2015, 08:10:50 PM »
Hey guys. I made something new, thought I'd show you guys. It's chess in Total Miner. It's fully playable both by yourself or with a friend. For anybody who plays chess and knows what they are, I added in most of the special rules like pawn promotion and casteling. Now, whats a post from me of something I made without a horrible quality video! Here ya go (warning: Shot with my IPhone, prepare for bad quality):



If you have any questions or opinions, let me know.

#ChessIsLoveChessIsLife

Brother Hood

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
  • futrue army
  • Awards 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Chess in TM
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2015, 08:46:56 PM »
that cool I was trying to make one but I change mine mind but anyway I like it ;)

MrMarooca

  • Modder
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 373
  • C# 4 lyfe
  • Awards Awarded to exemplary forum members 2 years on site Site art contributions/TPs in-game/Contest winners 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • YouTube - MrMarooca
    • Awards
  • Xbox: MrMarooca
  • Steam: TheWhitestBoyYouKnow
Re: Chess in TM
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2015, 08:51:00 PM »
If you'd like I can shoot some HD footage and send it to you.
You want me to give a timeframe? haha I'd have more luck predicting the end of the world.

MadMiner

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Awards Day 1 w/25+ posts (4/12/13)
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: Exavolt93
  • PSN: Exavolt93
  • Steam: Exavolt93
Re: Chess in TM
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2015, 08:55:46 PM »


That's incredible, how long did it take to do that?

#

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
  • I don't do much here.
  • Awards Month 1 members w/25+posts (4/21/13-5/12/13) 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: HellomeZodoz
Re: Chess in TM
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2015, 09:05:19 PM »
That's incredible, how long did it take to do that?

Thanks! I've been working on it for the past 3 days.

If you'd like I can shoot some HD footage and send it to you.

I really appreciate the offer, that'd be great :D

Gary

  • Tester
  • Supreme Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2936
  • Steam: Conmaan ... ... Discord: Conmaan #9586
  • Awards 1 year on site Was in the top 10 of the forum stats page as of 4/12/15 Former MotM winners
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Chess in TM
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2015, 09:15:03 PM »
Nice work. The game looks really good.


               

Link to my youtube channel:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCo4rmelSOUB9YMM0Is-zWyQ

Bluepudding the don

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
  • I'm feeling it now Mr. Krabs
  • Awards 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Chess in TM
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2015, 09:57:02 PM »
If only I knew how to play chess....
Former names: 2pac of pudding, Blueberries for all

Titan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 492
  • Awards 2 years on site 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Chess in TM
« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2015, 10:10:18 PM »
Quote this and underline the difference!

Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chees Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess Chess

Pringle

  • Legendary Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1183
  • Awards Members who have unlocked the robotic avatar Awarded to exemplary forum members 3 years on site 2 years on site Was in the top 10 of the forum stats page as of 4/12/15 1 year on site Week 1 members w/25+ posts (4/13/13-4/20/13) Former MotM winners
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: pringle2009
Re: Chess in TM
« Reply #8 on: August 14, 2015, 10:16:40 PM »
Brilliant.
One question though.
Are there restrictions like you can't move to a space that that piece shouldn't be able to move or like pinning a knight to the king and you can't move that knight because you'd put yourself in check?

If it is the case it's good so there is no cheating or accidentally moves to check

If it's not the case it's ok because regular chess has to be monitored by a person rather than a scripted computer any way. Just in this case there should be an undo button or the ability to move the piece back before switching turns so that it doesn't ruin the game.
https://m.

#

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
  • I don't do much here.
  • Awards Month 1 members w/25+posts (4/21/13-5/12/13) 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: HellomeZodoz
Re: Chess in TM
« Reply #9 on: August 14, 2015, 10:26:35 PM »
Brilliant.
One question though.
Are there restrictions like you can't move to a space that that piece shouldn't be able to move or like pinning a knight to the king and you can't move that knight because you'd put yourself in check?

All the pieces have scripts that dictate where it can and cannot move. A piece can only move to the squares that follow that piece's rules. Like, you can't move a piece to any random place. Hope that answers your question.

Brother Hood

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
  • futrue army
  • Awards 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Chess in TM
« Reply #10 on: August 15, 2015, 12:13:08 AM »
just 1 question how long did it you build.

Craig

  • Developer
  • Extreme Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6649
  • Dig Deep
  • Awards Developer 5 years on site 4 years on site 3 years on site 2 years on site Was in the top 10 of the forum stats page as of 4/12/15 Members who have unlocked the robotic avatar 1 year on site Day 1 w/25+ posts (4/12/13)
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
    • Awards
  • Steam: tota1miner
Re: Chess in TM
« Reply #11 on: August 15, 2015, 01:26:28 AM »
I'm impressed 8)

#

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
  • I don't do much here.
  • Awards Month 1 members w/25+posts (4/21/13-5/12/13) 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: HellomeZodoz
Re: Chess in TM
« Reply #12 on: August 15, 2015, 01:36:59 AM »

Dryym

  • Supreme Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4334
  • What's yours is mine. ~TM's Resident Master Thief~
  • Awards Members who have unlocked the robotic avatar Awarded to exemplary forum members 2 years on site 3 years on site Site art contributions/TPs in-game/Contest winners 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: dryym
Re: Chess in TM
« Reply #13 on: August 15, 2015, 08:34:50 AM »
I noticed you can't promote to a Rook or a Bishop. There are however situations when you would want to do so, For example, If you had the promoted pawn protected by another piece, Another player would be more willing to sacrifice another piece to take out a queen then they would be if you promoted it to a rook or bishop.

You said you can determine whether or not a piece can move, Does this also mean it can automatically determine Checkmate/Stalemate?

P.S. I'm not a chess expert, I just ask a lot of questions.

Creator of the term "Deathmine "
Jared [19|Oct 07:12 PM]: "It changes everything" Dryym

#

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
  • I don't do much here.
  • Awards Month 1 members w/25+posts (4/21/13-5/12/13) 1 year on site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Xbox: HellomeZodoz
Re: Chess in TM
« Reply #14 on: August 15, 2015, 09:50:16 AM »
I noticed you can't promote to a Rook or a Bishop.

Added, thanks.

You said you can determine whether or not a piece can move, Does this also mean it can automatically determine Checkmate/Stalemate?

It can't detect stalemates right now, but I guess I can add a simple one of just checking whether there's only 2 kings on the field. I know you can stalemate with another piece, but I'm lazy.